Bridging Generations

Ancestors and descendents of Joyce Verla Pratt and Mark Richard Berrett

Grandma Berrett

My Grandma Berrett

My Grandma Berrett

Harriet Lydia Brown Berrett
11 April 1884 – 16 May 1963

My Grandma Berrett died in 1963 when I was just 9 years old.  Because I was so young when she died, and our family had lived in Michigan for a number of years, I have just a few vague memories of her.  I suppose we visited my dad’s family in Utah every year or so, but I don’t remember much.  As a result, I anticipated that as I recorded the family history here, I’d simply share what others have said about her.  But when I began to read what others have written about her, I realized that I do have a connection with my Grandma.  Time and distance may have prevented me from having the same kind of relationship with her as I did with my Gram, but I do feel a closeness to her as I remember my childhood visits.

And so I don’t forget the few memories I have, here are 10 things I remember about my Grandma Berrett:

  • The table in the corner of the kitchen was where we ate meals at Grandma’s house.  Hanging above the table was a painting of some children burying a dead rabbit.

    I'm not certain that this is the same picture, but hers was very similar

    I’m not certain that this is the same picture, but hers was very similar – source

  • Several tables in the living room and dresser tops in the bedrooms were very simply adorned with lace doilies that Grandma tatted (or crocheted?)
  • Grandma’s hair was quite gray, and she always had it pulled it up in some kind of little bun on the back of her head.
  • She was a gentle and soft spoken woman.
  • Grandma Berrett never wore slacks, and always wore sensible black lace up shoes.
Sensible black shoes

Sensible black shoes

  • As we usually visited in the summer, she often bottled countless jars of fruits and vegetables during our visit.  I’m sure some of those jars made it back to Michigan with us.
  • Breakfast was huge at her house, and always included some form of “mush.”
  • She was 70 years old when I was born, and seemed quite old to my little girl self, but she stayed very busy in the kitchen and around the house.
  • A bowl of bread and milk was a regular menu item at Grandma’s house.  I think it was most commonly part of a Sunday night supper.
  • When we were leaving her house to return to Michigan on one occasion, she stood in the driveway and got teary-eyed at our departure.  I felt a connection to her as I realized that she loved us, and we were part of her family.
Grandma Berrett standing in the driveway of her home on Berrett Lane

Grandma Berrett standing in the driveway of her home on Berrett Lane

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Grandma Berrett

  1. Michelle on said:

    Since I have no memories of Grandma Berrett, thank you for sharing these. Hopefully in the next life I’ll be able to get to know her too!

  2. Michelle on said:

    Just one more thing….burying the dead rabbit over the dinner table? That seems a little unusual!

  3. Pingback: Down Berrett Lane | Bridging Generations

Leave a Reply

