Bridging Generations

Ancestors and descendents of Joyce Verla Pratt and Mark Richard Berrett

Frankie Pratt – A dog of the first water

Frank and Madalene Pratt on their wedding day with Frank Stone and Connie Roberts

Frank and Madalene Pratt on their wedding day with Frank Stone and Connie Roberts

Pop and Gram met about 1925 when they were about 18 years old.  They dated for a couple of years, and then married in April 1927 just after Pop turned 20 years old.  Gram was six months older than Pop, and throughout their marriage she took a lot of teasing about being an older woman!

The little information I have about their courtship is from the tape recording we made with Pop, so once again – in his own words:

I met Gram at a dance.  We met through a mutual friend, Jay Hardman’s wife, Tootie.  She wanted Madalene to go down to this dance to meet Frankie Pratt who was supposed to be a dog of the first water!  Well, I had a motorcycle and two cars, and it made my mother mad.

Frankie Pratt (1927) - a dog of the first water

Frankie Pratt (1927) – a dog of the first water

I had a brand new 1925 Ford Roadster.  It cost $425.  I had a Harley Davidson motorcycle and a Chevrolet touring car.  After all, a man about town – you have to have wheels!

1925 Ford Roadster

1925 Ford Roadster

Madalene came down to the dance, and I was stag.  We had a lot of dance [couldn’t understand what he said] in those days – no beer or anything.  I had a girl out on the fire escape, and I wouldn’t let her back in the dance until she kissed me!  Of course, she didn’t fight me too hard.  That’s where I met my wife.

Madalene Pratt and Tootie Warren

Madalene Pratt and Ellen “Tootie” Warren

I was introduced to Madalene by Tootie.  She wouldn’t go out with me for a long time.  Her father wouldn’t let me meet her.  We went around together for a couple of years.  I used to go out there to her house when I was just monkeying around on my motorcycle.  But when I wanted to take her out, I took my roadster.  Her parents were Mormons, and her father was just an old fogie, and he didn’t believe in that sort of thing [motorcycles.]

In a letter to my mother, Pop’s sister, Nonie wrote a little about Pop as a young man: “I know Frank had a motorcycle and rode it recklessly.  He went out to see your Mom (Madalene) and passed a car, fell off his bike and slid on his arms, and had them both bandaged up.  Anyway, he couldn’t even dress himself.  I don’t know who unzipped, or probably unbuttoned, his pants!”

And so the wedded bliss began!

Frank and Madalene - perhaps on honeymoon, 1927

Frank and Madalene – perhaps on honeymoon, 1927

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Frankie Pratt – A dog of the first water

  1. Michelle on said:

    No wonder we are all such great kids…..our grandfather was a dog of the first water. I had no idea we had such royal ancestors. Love the stories! Thank you for your continued efforts!

Leave a Reply

